Tags

, , , , ,

Tonight I did my part to Light It Up Blue and shine a light on autism by taking part in a New York tradition. That’s right– visiting the Empire State Building. The historic New York landmark was lit in bright blue tonight and will remain lit through tomorrow morning to honor World Autism Awareness Day and to kick off Autism Awareness Month.

As a native New Yorker, I relished the opportunity to “play tourist” on my first trip up the Empire State Building but I never forgot the true purpose of my trip. I was there to remember loved ones and those around the world I don’t even know who are affected by autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Along with other members of the Queens County Parents Autism Coalition (QCPAC.org), I commemorated the occasion by wearing my Autism Speaks t-shirt with a blue cardigan. For extra flair, we also wore bright blue glow stick necklaces as we took pictures on the 86th Floor Observatory Deck.

Do your part to Light It Up Blue for autism: wear something blue tomorrow, light your house with blue bulbs, change your Facebook status or simply spread the word to family, friends and neighbors. With knowledge comes understanding, tolerance and solidarity.

On April 1,  Autism Speaks volunteers and supporters went the Empire State Building to flip the ceremonial switch to turn the building’s lights blue for the second year in a row. Bob and Suzanne Wright greeted the crowd and spoke about the over 1000 buildings around the world that are turning blue tonight in celebration of the fourth annual World Autism Awareness Day. They were joined by Emil Jensen Perez, a young man with autism who asked the Em … Read More

via Autism Speaks Official Blog

