Tags

, , , ,

If the Eastern Seaboard earthquake wasn’t enough, Hurricane Irene is now headed for New York. Every other conversation I’ve had for the past 24 hours has somehow revolved hurricane preparedness in some way. New Yorkers don’t know how to handle two unusual natural occurrences in one week.

I will readily admit that I panicked over a mere 30-second tremor on Tuesday than more so than over Irene. My boss called me a hardened hurricane veteran since she knows I lived in Florida at one time. I may not go that far but I’ll say that I’ve had my share of hurricanes and tropical storms and come out okay in the end.  The worst I’d lived through was Wilma, which thankfully didn’t damage my apartment or car.

What am I going to do? Well, thankfully I don’t have to evacuate. I have candles, water, electronic devices charged, nonperishable food, and plenty of books to pass the time.  The only thing I’m missing from my Florida days are a corded telephone and battery-operated radio.

Need more tips and information? Click on the following links while we still have power.

And if you’re looking for a little levity, there’s always Twitter and this blog post on finding a hurricane boyfriend.
